Go Back   Nub Live Forum > Studio Tobac > Cain/Nub talk

Cain/Nub talk Talk about Studio Tobac, it's products and forum news

Old 11-15-2011, 08:44 PM   #1
OlivaCorey
Oliva

Default Humidor talk

You all asked for it so here I go. Sorry about the length but I wanted it to be a comprehensive post.

OVERVIEW
First of all I will say that I am crazy about my cigars. I have been collecting cigars for quite a few years now and it is my belief that if you are going to invest all of the time and money that we do into our hobby it is worth preserving your investment. I will warn you, what I have done has cost some money, but you can cut some corners and still be ok…I just didn’t want to take a chance. Below you will find a detailed description about how I keep my cigars and why I do it how I do. After years of reading cigar boards, searching through online articles, talking to experts, and A LOT of experimentation I believe I have come up with a very accurate way to protect my investment.

For starters, most people have heard of the 70/70 rule. This rule states that cigars are perfectly kept at 70% humidity and 70 degrees F. While this is not incorrect, it is not my preference. I keep my cigars at 65/65. I do this for a variety of reasons.

-First the temperature
If your cigars get above 70 degrees F you will run the risk of beetles hatching in your cigars (use the search function to see my post about freezing cigars). To be on the safe side, run my humidors at 65 degrees to account for fluctuation in room temperature, sunlight, etc.

- Now for humidity